Accounting standards in UK

Standard Accounting Practice

Standards issued up to 1 August 1990 are known as Statements of Standard Accounting Practice (SSAP).
SSAP4: The accounting treatment of government grants
SSAP5: Accounting for value added tax
SSAP9: Stocks and long-term contracts
SSAP13: Accounting for research and development
SSAP17: Accounting for post-balance sheet events
SSAP19: Accounting for investment properties
SSAP20: Foreign currency translation
SSAP21: Accounting for leases and hire purchase contracts
SSAP25: Segmental reporting

FRSSE: Financial Reporting Standard for Smaller Entities

Financial Reporting Standards

Standards issued after 1 August 1990 are known as Financial Reporting Standards (FRS).

FRS1: Cash flow statements (Revised)
FRS2: Accounting for subsidiary undertakings
FRS3: Reportingfinancialperformance
FRS4: Capital instruments
FRS5: Reporting the substance of transactions
FRS6: Acquisitions and mergers
FRS7: Fair values in acquisition accounting
FRS8: Related party disclosures
FRS9: Associates and joint ventures
FRS10: Goodwill and intangible assets
FRS11: Impairment of fixed assets and goodwill
FRS12: Provisions, contingent liabilities and contingent assets
FRS13: Derivatives and other financial instruments: disclosures
FRS14: Earnings per share
FRS15: Tangible fixed assets
FRS16: Current taxation
FRS17: Retirement benefits
FRS18: Accounting policies
FRS19: Deferred tax
FRS20: Share-basedpayment
FRS21: Events afterthe balance sheet date
FRS22: Earnings per share
FRS23: The effects of changes in foreign exchange rates
FRS24: Financial reporting in hyperinflationary economies
FRS25: Financial lnstruments: Disclosure and Presentation
FRS26: Financial lnstruments: Measurement
FRS27: Life Assurance
FRS28: Corresponding amounts
FRS29: Financial instruments: disclosures